A.R.Rahman wins four awards at Mirchi Music Awards

By February 12, 2010 No Comments

Mumbai, February 10th, 2010  The finest talent in Hindi film music was saluted at the second edition of the Airtel Mirchi Music Awards 2009 held last night with Radio Mirchi announcing the winners.  Delhi 6 won the best song award for Masakali, best album, Mohit Chauhan won the best male vocalist for Masakali, Rekha Bhardwaj won the best female vocalist for Genda Phool. AR Rahman won the best music director award for Masakali Delhi 6 while Prasoon Joshi won lyricist of the year for Masakali. Rahman also won the best song arranger and programmer for Masakali. H Sridhar, S Sivakumar, Deepak P A and Vivianne Chaix got the best song mixing and engineering for Delhi 6.

The Airtel Mirchi Listeners’ choice for best song went to Iktara from Wake Up Sid and Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani took the award for Airtel Mirchi Listeners’ choice for best album. The special jury award for exceptional non-film music achievement went to Saeen bina darad kareje haye sung by Rashid Khan. Raju Singh won the best background score award for Raaz- The Mystery Continues.

Gulzar won the lifetime achievement award and the jury award for outstanding contribution to Hindi film music went to Kersi Lord. Manna Dey won the KL Saigal Sangeet Shehenshah Award.

There were performances by singers KK, Sunidhi Chauhan, Rekha Bhardwaj, Himesh Reshamiya and Usha Uthup while Shahid Kapoor and Katrina Kaif performed on the best tracks of the year.

Speaking at the event, Prashant Panday, CEO, ENIL, said, “The integrity and dedication behind Mirchi Music Awards is what makes it unique. The Awards salute the hard work, passion and the immense creative talent of our music industry.”